Skip to main content
SPS Logo

Northwestern University Summer Writers' Conference

Free Events

2018 Free Events: Readings and Receptions

Each day at the conference ends with a networking reception and literary reading. These events are free and open to the public.

Location for free events:

Wieboldt Hall
7th Floor
339 E. Chicago Ave.
Chicago, IL 60611


To stay informed of 2019 conference free events:

Join our mailing list!


Thursday, August 9, 2018

Mixer and Reading

hosted by Northwestern University's MA/MFA in Creative Writing

4:45 p.m.: Mixer (drinks, snacks, and mingling)
5:30 p.m.: Literary Reading

Join Northwestern University's MA/MFA in Creative Writing program for readings of original work by faculty and recent graduates from the graduate program. The readers include:

NU Faculty: Juan Martinez and Christine Sneed 
Recent NU Graduates: Anne-Marie Akin, Laura Jones, and Miyako Pleines
Alum: Gretchen Kalwinski

RSVP and read bios on the Facebook event page.

Friday, August 10, 2018

Networking Reception and Reading

hosted by TriQuarterly Literary Magazine

4:45 p.m.: Refreshments and Networking
5:30 p.m.: Literary Reading

Please join TriQuarterly literary journal as we toast the launch of issue 154 with a reading at the Northwestern Summer Writers' Conference! We'll feature readings from issue 154 contributors and welcome back contributors from issues past. The lineup is amazing, with stories, essays and poems from:

A.D. Naumann
Mike Puican
Bryan Hurt
Jen Julian
Jane Zwart
Gabriela Garcia
Bonnie Nadzam

RSVP on the Facebook event page.

Saturday, August 11, 2018

Reading and Networking Reception

hosted by the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame

4:45 p.m.: Literary Reading
Refreshments and networking to follow

Our final reading of the conference is hosted by the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame, whose mission is to honor and preserve Chicago's great literary heritage. This reading will celebrate Chicago's rich literary scene. The readers include:

Donald Evans
Valya Dudycz Lupescu
Rebecca Makkai
Kelly O'Connor McNees 
Bayo Ojikutu
Ben Tanzer

RSVP on the Facebook event page.

Back to top